The DIE is a registered institution. In accordance with its articles of association, the DIE has three committees: general assembly, board of directors and administrative body. The general assembly elects three representatives from the fields of research and practice for the administrative body which supervises the institute’s legality, expedience and efficiency. Consisting of two directors, the body of directors manages the institute, administrates the institution and represents the Leibniz Association.

General Assembly:

Board of Directors:

Administrative Board:

  • Vice-President Dr. Michael H. Wappelhorst, Ministry of Culture Science and Research of the German State of North-Rhine Westphalia (MKW)
  • Dr. Paul Ciupke, Association of German Educational Organisations (AdB)
  • Mirco Fretter, Forum DistancE-Learning
  • Michael Glatz, German Protestant Consortium for Adult Education (DEAE)
  • Prof. Dr. Anke Grotlüschen, German Educational Research Association (DGfE)
  • Dr. Beate Hörr, German Association for University Continuing and Distance Education (DGWF)
  • Prof. Dr. Eckhard Klieme, German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF)
  • MinR Peter Munk, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
  • RD'in Anke Ortmann-Gerhardt, Ministry of Culture Science and Research of the German State of North-Rhine Westphalia (MKW)
  • Bernd Passens, German Adult Education Association (DVV)
  • Ulf Rautenstrauch, Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs (KMK)
  • MinDirig Thomas Sondermann, Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
  • Prof. Dr. Isabell van Ackeren, University Duisburg-Essen

Advisory Board

  • President Prof. Dr. Rudolf Tippelt, Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich
  • Vice-President Dr. Carola Schelle-Wolff, German Library Association (dbv)
  • Prof. Dr. Ralf Bergold, Catholic Federal Organisation of Adult Education (KEB)
  • Dr. Knut Diekmann, Association of German Chambers of Industry and Commerce (DIHK)
  • Prof. Dr. John Field, University of Stirling
  • Prof. Dr. Wiltrud Gieseke, Humboldt University of Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Stefanie Hartz, Braunschweig University of Technology
  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Hasselhorn, German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF)
  • Prof. Dr. Christiane Hof, Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe-Universität Frankfurt
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Klemm, Sächsischer Volkshochschulverband
  • Prof. Dr. Harm Kuper, Freie Universität Berlin
  • Ulrich Nordhaus, German Trade Union Confederation (DGB) federal executive board
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Schmidt-Lauff, Chemnitz University of Technology
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Tochtermann, German National Library of Economics (ZBW)


Letzte Änderung: 19/03/2018